White House Subcommittee on Advanced Manufacturing

The White House’s Subcommittee on Advanced Manufacturing (SAM) of the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) serves as a forum for information-sharing, coordination, and consensus-building among participating agencies regarding federal policy, programs, and budget guidance for advanced manufacturing.  Originally chartered in 2012, the Subcommittee seeks to identify: gaps in federal advanced manufacturing research and development portfolio and policies; programs and policies that support technology commercialization; methods of improving business climate; and opportunities for public-private collaboration.  Regarding advanced manufacturing programs conducted by the Federal Government, the Subcommittee engages in the identification and integration of multi-agency technical requirements, joint program planning and coordination, and development of joint strategies or multi-agency joint solicitations.

The Subcommittee is chaired by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) with co-chairs from the Department of Defense (DoD) and Department of Commerce.  The Director for Technology Industrial Innovation Base (TIIB) serves as the DoD co-chair with support and representation from the Office of the Secretary of Defense Manufacturing Technology (OSD ManTech) Program Director. Other representatives on the Subcommittee include the Department of Agriculture, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, and National Science Foundation.

In 2022, the NSTC SAM developed and released the National Strategy for Advanced Manufacturing. The Strategy presents a vision for United States leadership in Advanced Manufacturing that will grow the economy, create jobs, enhance environmental sustainability, address climate change, strengthen supply chains, ensure national security, and improve healthcare.